Espen Eriksen Trio

Espen Eriksen Trio

Espen Eriksen – piano

Lars Tormod Jenset - bass

Andreas Bye - drums


Espen Eriksen Trio was formed in 2007 and has released six critically acclaimed records on the Norwegian label Rune Grammofon. The trio’s music relies on highly melodic and lyrical instrumentals and a “less is more” approach and is often credited for its unique voice within today’s jazz scene by the international press. To quote BBC in their review of the trio’s second album “A wonderfully plaintive jazz record, abandoned to the lost art of melodic minimalism, stripped back and beautifully near bare. No smoke and mirrors, just the graceful chemistry of superb musicians at the top of their game”.

The trio also has an ongoing collaboration with the British saxophone star Andy Sheppard, resulting in the album “Perfectly Unhappy” from 2018 and multiple sold out tours in Europe, including two concerts at the London Jazz Festival broadcasted by BBC Radio. Sheppard is also featured on 3 tracks on this year’s live album “In The Mountains”.

Espen Eriksen Trio’s studio album “End Of Summer” was recorded during lockdown and is a collection of captivating and lyrical songs – often melancholic and uplifting at the same time. Their last album “In The Mountains” is breathtakingly beautiful and we can’t wait to hear their music on our stage.


What critics say:

“Impeccably performed, full of crisp, beguiling melodies and improvisations that are thoughtful without neglecting feeling”. (Jazz Journal)

“After extensive touring worldwide, Espen Eriksen Trio comes through as a tight unity with a dazzling use of dynamics, ranging from melancholic moods to hypnotic grooves”.

“Superb musicians at the top of their game”. (BBC)

“A captivating sense of lyricism, something of a lost art”. (Jazzwise)